What are the 2 subdivisions of the nervous system?

What are the two subdivisions of the nervous system quizlet?

The structures of the nervous system are described in terms of 2 principal divisions-the central nervous system (CNS) and the peripheral nervous system (PNS).

What are the main divisions of the PNS?

The peripheral nervous system itself is divided into two parts: the somatic nervous system and the autonomic nervous system. Each of these components plays a critical role in how the peripheral nervous system operates.

What are the subdivisions of the central nervous system?

The central nervous system (defined as the brain and spinal cord) is usually considered to have seven basic parts: the spinal cord, the medulla, the pons, the cerebellum, the midbrain, the diencephalon, and the cerebral hemispheres (Figure 1.10; see also Figure 1.8).

What are the two subdivisions of the autonomic nervous system and what is the basic function of each subdivision quizlet?

The autonomic nervous system controls the glands and the muscles of the internal organs. The sympathetic nervous system arouses the body and expends energy. It is responsible for our fight and flight response. The parasympathetic nervous system calms the body and conserves energy.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Why is it so hard to control emotions?

What are the two main divisions of the nervous system called Quizizz?

The central nervous system consists of the spinal cord and brain. The peripheral nervous system consists of nerves and neurons throughout the body. The central nervous system consists of the spinal cord and brain.

What are the 2 subsystems of autonomic nervous system?

The autonomic nervous system comprises two antagonistic sets of nerves, the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems. The sympathetic nervous system connects the internal organs to the brain by spinal nerves.

What are the 2 divisions of the autonomic nervous system give examples of their antagonistic action?

These organs are said to be “dually innervated.” Typically, the parasympathetic and sympathetic systems will have antagonistic effects on the organs. For example, the heart is innervated by both divisions of the ANS, the parasympathetic division slows down heart rate and sympathetic innervation increases heart rate.

What are the two divisions of the autonomic nervous system Brainly?

➡The two divisions of the autonomic nervous system are the sympathetic division and the parasympathetic division.